TU Dresden    
Deutsch | Search 
TU Dresden » Faculty of Science » Department of Chemistry and Food Chemistry » AnC1

Xenon and hyperpolarized Xenon in the NMR

Xenon recently finds numerous applications. For example, xenon is used as a probe molecule in materials science. It also serves for the detection of specific as well as non-specific binding places on protein surfaces in solution. Due to its hydrophobic properties, xenon is well suited in order to locate so-called hydrophobic cavities in proteins. This can be done, e.g., by the detection of xenon-induced H-1, N-15, or C-13 chemical shift changes. Furthermore, the Xe-129 NMR chemical shift tends to be much higher than that of H-1 nuclei (up to ca. 300 ppm). However, NMR exhibits a relatively low sensitivity resulting from the low spin polarization in thermal equlibrium. Hyperpolarization of noble gases may increase the polarization and, therefore, the sensitivity by 4-6 orders of magnitude.

In the case of Xe-129, for instance, the equilibrium polarisation at a magnetic field of 7 Tesla at room temperature amounts to only 0,0007%. In contrast, hyperpolarised Xe-129 attains nuclear spin polarisations of up to about 50%.


Fig. 1: Comparison between thermically polarised xenon (left) and hyperpolarised xenon (right)

In our group, xenon projects focus on the following subjects:

  • numerical simulations and experiments to augment our understanding of the hyperpolarisation process and to optimise it
  • NMR-spectroscopic inquiries of proteins via noble gases (Xenon, Argon),
    e.g. via chemical shift mapping
  • xenon-NMR spectroscopy and spin polarisation transfer onto proteins via hyperpolarised xenon

The hyperpolarisation process of Xe-129 starts by optically pumping the valence electrons of an alkali atom, e.g. rubidium, using a laser. The rubidium valence electrons in turn can transfer electron spin polarisation to the noble gas nuclei via spin exchange.


Fig. 2: Circularly polarised laser light (wave length 794.8 nm) enters a mixture of rubidium vapour, helium, nitrogen, and xenon within an oven of controlled temperature

To improve efficiency of our apparatus extensive theoretical considerations and numerical simulations using the finite-element-method have been conducted in our group. With the aid of these numerical 3D simulations, the thermo- and aerodynamical processes within the pump cell can be modelled in a realistic manner, as comparison to our experiments shows.


Fig. 3: oven temperature dependent distribution of xenon nuclear spin polarisation within a pump cylinder.

By varying various system parameters (oven temperature, xenon, nitrogen, and helium partial pressure, laser power etc.) we can optimise the conditions of the pumping process to achieve maximum xenon polarisation.

 
NEWS
TU Dresden / Department


 

 
 

CONTACT


Sekretary

Phone: +49 351 463-32631
Fax: +49 351 463-37188

Visitors address:

Neubau Chemische Institute
Room 235
Bergstraße 66
01069 Dresden

Mail to:

TU Dresden
Fachrichtung Chemie
und Lebensmittelchemie

Professur für Bioanalytische Chemie

01062 Dresden

Bulk mail to:

Fachrichtung Chemie
und Lebensmittelchemie

Professur für Bioanalytische Chemie

Helmholtzstraße 10
01069 Dresden

Webmaster                   Impressum

TU Dresden    
English | Suche 
TU Dresden » Fakultät Mathematik und Naturwissenschaften » Fachrichtung Chemie und Lebensmittelchemie » AnC1

Xenon und hyperpolarisiertes Xenon in der NMR

Die Anwendungen von Xenon in der NMR-Spektroskopie sind vielfältig und von zunehmender Bedeutung. So wird Xenon zum Beispiel als Sonde in der Materialwissenschaft eingesetzt ebenso wie zur Lokalisierung von spezifischen und unspezifischen Xenon-Bindungsstellen an Proteinoberflächen oder zur Untersuchung von Xenon-Protein-Wechselwirkungen in wässriger Lösung. Auf Grund seiner hydrophoben Eigenschaften eignet sich Xenon hervorragend zur Detektion von sogenannte Kavitäten in Proteinen. Dabei kann z.B. durch Beobachtung der chemischen Verschiebung der H-1-, N-15- und C-13-Kerne des Proteins auf Xenon-Protein-Wechselwirkungen geschlossen werden. Außerdem besitzt Xenon im Vergleich zu Protonen in Flüssigkeiten eine deutlich größere chemische Verschiebung von bis zu 300 ppm. Allerdings besitzt die NMR den Nachteil einer relativ geringen Sensitivität, welche aus der kleinen Polarisation der Kernspins im thermischen Gleichgewicht resultiert. Durch die Hyperpolarisation von Edelgasen kann die Polarisation und damit die Sensitivität um 4-6 Größenordnungen erhöht werden.
So liegt zum Beispiel die Gleichgewichtspolarisation von Xe-129 in einem Magnetfeld von 7 Tesla bei Raumtemperatur bei nur 0,0007%. Hyperpolarisiertes Xenon erreicht dagegen bis zu ca. 50% Kernspinpolarisation!


Abb. 1: Vergleich zwischen thermisch polarisiertem Xenon (links) und hyperpolarisiertem Xenon (rechts)

In unserer Arbeitsgruppe werden Arbeiten zu folgenden Schwerpunkten ausgeführt:

  • Numerische Simulationen und Experimente mit dem Ziel eines tiefergehenden physikalischen Verständnisses und zur Optimierung des Polarisationsvorgangs
  • NMR-spektroskopische Untersuchungen von Proteinen mittels Edelgasen (Xenon, Argon), u.a. durch chemical shift mapping
  • Xenon-NMR Spektroskopie und Spinpolarisationstransfer auf Proteine mittels hyperpolarisiertem Xenon

Der Prozess der Hyperpolarisation von Xe-129 beginnt mit dem optischen Pumpen der Valenzelektronen eines Alkalimetalls mit Hilfe eines Lasers. Die Elektronen sind in der Lage, ihre Elektronenspinpolarisation auf die Kerne eines Edelgases durch Spinaustausch zu übertragen.

 
Abb. 2: Zirkular polarisiertes Laserlicht der Wellenlänge 794,8 nm trifft in einem Ofen auf ein Gemisch aus Rubidiumdampf, Helium, Stickstoff und Xenon.

Um die Effektivität unserer Anlage zu verbessern, wurden in unserer Arbeitsgruppe umfangreiche theoretische Betrachtungen und numerische Simulationen unter Verwendung der Finite-Elemente-Methode durchgeführt. Mit Hilfe dieser 3D-Simulationen können die thermo- und aerodynamischen Prozesse in der Pumpzelle realistisch modelliert werden, wie der Vergleich mit den Experimenten zeigt.


Abb. 3: Einfluss der Ofentemperatur auf die Xenon-Kernspinpolarisation im Pumpzylinder

Durch Variation verschiedener Systemparameter (Ofentemperatur, Xenon-, Stickstoff-, Heliumpartialdruck, Laserleistung, u.s.w.) können somit die Pumpbedingungen für maximale Xenonpolarisation optimiert werden.

 
AKTUELLES
TU Dresden / Fachrichtung


 

 
 

KONTAKT


Sekretariat

Tel.: +49 351 463-32631
Fax: +49 351 463-37188

Besucheradresse:

Neubau Chemische Institute
Sekretariat Zi. 235
Bergstraße 66,
01069 Dresden

Postanschrift:

TU Dresden
Fachrichtung Chemie
und Lebensmittelchemie

Professur für Bioanalytische Chemie

01062 Dresden

Pakete:

Fachrichtung Chemie
und Lebensmittelchemie

Professur für Bioanalytische Chemie

Helmholtzstraße 10
01069 Dresden

Webmaster                   Impressum