TU Dresden    
Deutsch | Search 
TU Dresden » Faculty of Science » Department of Chemistry and Food Chemistry » AnC1

NMR on Metal-Organic Frameworks (cooperation with AK Prof. Kaskel)

Metal-Organic Frameworks (MOF´s) represent a novel class of hybrid materials built from inorganic clusters and multifunctional organic linkers. The resulting two- or three dimensional network structures exhibit special characteristics such as high porosity, large specific surface area, and a high thermal stability. Numerous applications such as in gas purification, gas storage, catalysis, and separation processes are recently discussed.

NMR spectroscopy is a well-established tool for the investigation of porous materials. In particular, we use 129Xe and 13C MAS NMR spectroscopy in order to characterize MOF´s as well as their interactions with adsorbed species.

 

129Xe NMR Spectroscopy:

129Xe NMR spectroscopy offers a variety of interesting parameters encoding information about the surface and pore system of porous materials. It is particualarly suitable for the characterization of flexible frameworks to detect structural transformations such as the so-called gate-pressure-effect. Depending on pressure and temperature, these flexible compounds show reversible structural changes during adsorption/desorption of several molecules (e.g. nitrogen, xenon).




Fig. is quoting from [1]


Using a home-made high-pressure apparatus we are able to measure Xenon adsorption/desorption isortherms and isobars of MOF´s. The apparatus allows for in situ regulation of Xenon pressure, i.e., inside the NMR magnet.



Fig. is quoting from [1]

13C MAS NMR Spectroscopy:

13C MAS NMR Spectroscopy is an excellent tool for the characterization of Metal-Organic Frameworks as well as the dynamic behavior of several structural groups.





 [1] H.C. Hoffmann, B. Assfour, F. Epperlein, N. Klein, S. Paasch, I. Senkovska, S. Kaskel, G. Seifert, E. Brunner, High-Pressure in situ 129Xe NMR Spectroscopy and Computer Simulations of Breathing Transitions in the Metal-Organic Framework Ni2(2,6-ndc)2(dabco) {DUT-8(Ni), J. Am. Chem. Soc., 133 (2011) 8681–8690

 
NEWS
TU Dresden / Department


 

 
 

CONTACT


Sekretary

Phone: +49 351 463-32631
Fax: +49 351 463-37188

Visitors address:

Neubau Chemische Institute
Room 235
Bergstraße 66
01069 Dresden

Mail to:

TU Dresden
Fachrichtung Chemie
und Lebensmittelchemie

Professur für Bioanalytische Chemie

01062 Dresden

Bulk mail to:

Fachrichtung Chemie
und Lebensmittelchemie

Professur für Bioanalytische Chemie

Helmholtzstraße 10
01069 Dresden

Webmaster                   Impressum

TU Dresden    
English | Suche 
TU Dresden » Fakultät Mathematik und Naturwissenschaften » Fachrichtung Chemie und Lebensmittelchemie » AnC1

NMR an Metallorganischen Gerüstverbindungen (Kooperation mit AK Prof. Kaskel)

Metallorganische Gerüstverbindungen (MOF´s) sind ein hochaktuelles Forschungsgebiet. Basierend auf einem einfachen modularen Aufbau aus anorganischen Clustern und multifunktionellen organischen Linkern werden mehrdimensionale Netzwerke erzeugt, die spezielle Eigenschaften wie hohe Porösität, große spezifische Oberflächen sowie eine hohe thermische Stabilität aufweisen. Daraus ergeben sich vielfältige Anwendungsmöglichkeiten auf den Gebieten der Gastrennung, Gasreinigung und Gasspeicherung sowie der Katalyse und der definierten Freisetzung von Wirkstoffen.

Die NMR-Spektroskopie stellt eine besonders geeignete Methode zur Charakterisierung dieser Verbindungsklasse dar.

Dabei kommen vor allem folgende Methoden zum Einsatz:

 

129Xe-NMR-Spektroskopie:

Die 129Xe-NMR-Spektroskopie eignet sich insbesondere zur Untersuchung von flexiblen MOF´s, die den sogenannten gate-pressure-Effekt zeigen. In Abhängigkeit von Druck und Temperatur zeigen diese Verbindungen reversible strukturelle Veränderungen, die zu einer Adsorption und Desorption von Gasen (z.B. Stickstoff, Xenon) in den Poren des MOF´s führen.




Abb. aus [1]


Mittels einer von uns konstruierten Hochdruckapparatur sind wir in der Lage, den Gasdruck im Inneren des NMR-Röhrchen direkt im NMR-Spektrometer zu variieren und Xenon-Adsorptions-/Desorptionsisothermen und -isobaren aufzunehmen.



Abb. aus [1]

13C-MAS-NMR-Spektroskopie:

Mit Hilfe der 13C-FK-NMR-Spektroskopie kann die Gerüststruktur der MOF´s sowie dynamische Verhaltensweisen einzelner Strukturgruppen charakterisiert werden.





 [1] H.C. Hoffmann, B. Assfour, F. Epperlein, N. Klein, S. Paasch, I. Senkovska, S. Kaskel, G. Seifert, E. Brunner, High-Pressure in situ 129Xe NMR Spectroscopy and Computer Simulations of Breathing Transitions in the Metal-Organic Framework Ni2(2,6-ndc)2(dabco) {DUT-8(Ni), J. Am. Chem. Soc.,133 (2011) 8681–8690

 
AKTUELLES
TU Dresden / Fachrichtung


 

 
 

KONTAKT


Sekretariat

Tel.: +49 351 463-32631
Fax: +49 351 463-37188

Besucheradresse:

Neubau Chemische Institute
Sekretariat Zi. 235
Bergstraße 66,
01069 Dresden

Postanschrift:

TU Dresden
Fachrichtung Chemie
und Lebensmittelchemie

Professur für Bioanalytische Chemie

01062 Dresden

Pakete:

Fachrichtung Chemie
und Lebensmittelchemie

Professur für Bioanalytische Chemie

Helmholtzstraße 10
01069 Dresden

Webmaster                   Impressum